Despite my MS program being in Mathematics, I had to take a "politics" class during my first semester. Normal students had a few choices, but exchange students only had one: 中国概况, An Overview of China. The first substantial assignment was to write a short essay about one's personal relationship with Shanghai. At the time, I was stuck in quarantine in Guangzhou. The Chinese government only started issuing student visas again a few days before the semester started. I'd gotten Covid (for the first and only time) about a month before this. My symptoms were mild and I'd recovered completely after three days, but I was still testing positive. These factors combined to delay my arrival in China to over a month into the semester. As such, I had yet to see Shanghai with my own eyes. So I wrote this essay about a dream I had, where Shanghai and New York had been swapped -- the two cities carried across the oceans. In the dream, I took the bus to visit, along with Koizumi Kyoko, who accompanied me.

上海
22年10月26日

我还没到达上海,所以谈论上海我只能依靠别人说的或我自己的想象。

几年前我梦见了为了改善我们两个国家之间的关系,美国和中国的政府约定了交换纽约和上海。我不知道他们为什么觉得这个安排会改善关系,我也不清楚他们怎么把这两个城市的位置移动那么长的距离,可是不管是如何发生的,我发现了上海突然位于新泽西的北边,离巴尔的摩(我家所在的城市)比较近。

在这个梦里我的妻子是八十年代日本歌手小泉今日子。因为我们还在新婚期,我们就乘了大巴去上海度蜜月。

到达上海以后一下车看看环境,我就觉得我不属于这里。虽然我们很容易踏上这片土地,但是我们只是入侵者。无论街上的人对我们那么好,我和我这个妻子都是不欢迎的,看到我们所有人就会觉得不自在。当然不能怪他们,这个城市是他们的家,并且没有人邀请我们。

我的目光转向小泉今日子,看样子她也有同样的感觉。她突然变成了哑巴,因为她不要周围的人知道她不是本地人。如果她需要和别人说话,她用铅笔写字,我就帮她翻译(虽然梦里的上海是现代的上海,梦里的小泉今日子还是80年代的,所以她不能用手机翻译)。

到达了上海天已经黑了。为了俯瞰整座城市的夜景,我们去了上海中心大厦,但是我们没有登上大厦的顶层。小泉今日子说了她想喝一瓶柠檬汁,所以我们去了大厦里面的一家便利店。因为那么晚,除了我们和收银员以外没有其他的客人。我给她买了柠檬汁,给自己买了无糖可口可乐,付钱收银员什么都没说,然后我们进入了电梯。门关好了没有按电梯按钮,我们俩一起蹲了在地上慢慢喝自己的饮料,然后我睡醒了。

这个梦当然没有什么现实意义,实际上这样的故事不会发生。比如说,我猜我不可以在上海中心大厦的电梯里那么轻松地玩,别人都会生我的气。在梦里上海离我的家很近,去那里很容易。在现实世界里呢,去上海非常难,甚至我还没到达。需要办理各种复杂的手续,花费的时间也不少。比如直飞的飞机熔断,所以我离开美国,首先需要飞到首尔转机,几天后再到达广州,过了这么多天了,我仍在广州郊区的酒店隔离着。

无论我去哪里的大城市,我总觉得自己是陌生人。在纽约、芝加哥、北京和首尔我都有类似于上面描述的感觉,所以我猜上海也不会例外。虽然如此,在上海必须住至少两年。或许我会慢慢地熟悉这座城市。拭目以待吧。

<back